President NADAA appoints Council of State Members

    /    Feb 15, 2017   /     NewsBreak  /    0 Comments  /    155 Views

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has appointed members of the Council of State ahead of the election of the regional representatives which is scheduled to take place on Thursday 16th February, 2017.

Lawyer Sam Okudzeto, former mayor of the Accra Metropolitan Assembly, Stanley Adjiri Blankson and nine others are to make up the Council of State.

A statement from the Flagstaff House signed by acting Director of Communications, Eugene Arhin state that the appointment was made pursuant to article 82(2)(d) of the Constitution.

Also subject to the approval of parliament, the President in accordance with Article 89(2)(a)ii and iii appointed a former Chief of Defence Staff, General J.B Danquah and, a former, Inspector General of Police, Nana Owusu Nsiah, to the Council.

Meanwhile according the statement, the President was unable to appoint a former chief justice to the council, as required by the constitution, because there is no living former CJ.

The President of the National House of Chiefs, Togbe Afede XIV is an ex-officio member of the council, pursuant to Article 89(2)(b).

Below is the full list of members of the Council of State

  1. Nana Otuo Siriboe II, Juabenhene
  2. Sam Okudzeto
  3. Nana Kofi Obiri Egyir II
  4. Stanley Adjiri Blankson
  5. Alberta Cudjoe
  6. Alhaji Aminu Amadu
  7. Margaret Amoakohene
  8. Alhaji Sahanun Moqtar
  9. Georgina Kusi
  10. Alhaji Sule Yiremiah
  11.  Mr. Paa Kofi

Suraya Alidu Malititi |

Leave a Reply



  • Manchester attack: 22 dead and 59 hurt in suicide bombing
  • Indonesia’s Aceh: Two gay men sentenced to 85 lashes
  • Emmanuel Macron: French president-elect to fight ‘forces of division’
  • Macron condemns ‘massive’ hacking attack as documents leaked
  • Prince Philip to step down from carrying out royal engagements
  • French election: Macron and Le Pen both claim debate success

Find us on Facebook

Featured Video

Featured Video